Soroptimist International of Eureka
Award Recipients

2021 Award Recipients

The 2021 Award's Program was conducted on Zoom since it was held during the COVID-19 pandemic.   
Ebelyn Miranda is a single mother of one child who is getting her professional certification training in PSI Property & Casualty Insurance. She is currently working for Stan Smith Insurance in Eureka.
Brittnee Thompson is studying Early Childhood Education at College of the Redwoods. She is a single mother of a daughter and lives in Crescent City. She wants to become a Head Start teacher for her tribe.
Lori Squillace is a 51-year-old divorced mother of a teenage son and lives in Mendocino. She is studying to become a Holistic Health Practitioner through Quantum University. Through nutrition, exercise, mindfulness, meditation, mind/hear coherence, she wants to help people become healthier and more peaceful in their lives.
Nancy Hurtado is a divorced mother of two small children and working on her Bachelor’s degree in Physical Education/Health at the International Sports Sciences Association.  She hopes to further her knowledge on how the body moves and how she can help others better understand how their body moves and can be transformed into a healthier and more comfortable version.
Klayre Barres is a student at Eureka High School. She is a co-founder and Vice-President of the Eureka High School “S” Club. Her goal is focused on empathy and creating an environment of safety for the young women at Eureka High School. Klayre says this about her volunteer work, “Activism and volunteerism for empathy and positive school climate is something that I have become passionate about since the walkout freshman year. From the pandemic to the wildfires to the election, our country is under a great deal of stress. Empathy unites, which is something we desperately need right now. “ Klayre was also chosen as the District winner and received another $1,000 from Founder Region Soroptimist.
Aileen Bartscht has helped distribute toys to need children living in Humboldt, Trinity, Mendocino and Del Norte Counties fore over five years. She started a personal project of making blankets and warm beanie hats for local charities such as the Women’s Rescue Mission. She places a “Heart Bead” on every blanket and hat, making them special and from her heart.
Katelyn Graeser and Sarah Fox are co-head coaches for girls’ softball at Eureka High School. On the softball field, they encourage girls to play even if they have never picked up a softball before. They make learning and growing a fun, challenging endeavor. They guild teamwork and team bonding with many exercises.
Byrd Lochtie has been a member of the League of Women Voters Humboldt County for over 50 years. Byrd has been a member of the State of the Community Luncheon committee, honoring local people for their efforts to “Make Democracy Work” and was also honored as a Civic community Volunteer. She is active in Girl Scouts, Humboldt Area Foundation and now oversees the Human Right Commission, County Board of Supervisors’ Human Trafficking grant.

2020 Award Recpients

Dalia Cortes - Live Your Dream  Award
Mandy Martin - Violet Richardson Award
Danielle Garcia- Live Your Dream Award
Katelyn Bourne - Courage Award
Sabrina Jones - Live Your Dream Award
Jan Carr  - Ruby Award 

2019 Award Recipients 

March 14, 2019
Humboldt Bay Aquatic Center

SI/Eureka Recipients
Live Your Dream - Nina Tillman
Violet Richardson Award - Ashley Montero Cabrera
Courage Award - Stevie Abbott
Ruby Award - Kristina Christiansen
Violet Richardson Award  -  Sadie Wilkinson
Courage Award - Mishell Lopez
Live Your Dream - Sierra O'Leary

2018 Award Recipients - SI/Eureka

Mach 29, 2018
Humboldt Bay Aquatic Center

SI/Eureka Award Recipients:
Courage Award  - Myra Hallman
Live Your Dream  - Laury:n Brawley - District V Winner
Ruby Award  - Sue Lee Mossman - Breast Health Project
Live Your Dream - Ivy Gordon
Violet Richardson Award - Jamie Anne Robbins

2017 Award Recipients - SI/Eureka and SI/Humboldt Bay

March 9, 2017
Baywood Golf & Country Club

SI/Eureka Award Recipients:
Distinguished Youth - Ellie Pumpkin
Live Your Dream  -  Jennifer Askay and Abby Armstrong
Re-Entry Award - Renalda Prudhomme
Ruby Award  -  Carrie Coppini
Violet Richardson Award Recipient -  Leah Selcer

2016 Award Recipients - SI/Eureka and SI/Humboldt Bay

March 10, 2016
Baywood Golf & Country Club

SI/Eureka Award Recipients:
Live Your Dream -  Hannah Bruckner
Re-Entry Award - Lilyann Navarro
Ruby Award Recipient - Lisa Skidmore -Director, Rescue Mission Women's Shelter
Violet Richardson Award Recipient - Francim Aquilar

2015 Award Recipients - SI/Eureka and SI/Humboldt Bay

March 12, 2015
Ingomar Club

SI/Eureka Award Recipient:
Distinguished Youth - Myah Daniels
Live Your Ream Recipient -  Lucy Gathoni Mbugua
Ruba Award: Paulette Gilliam - Socks For Soldiers
Violet Richardson Award Recipient - Sophia Haag

SI/Eureka Award Winner at Federation Level

Rebecca Schufflin - Women 's Opportunity Award Recipient 2014
District V Winner, Founder Region Winner, and SIA Federation Winner

President Dyann O'Brien and District V Director Kris Chorbi present Rebecca with a check for $10,000 from Soroptimist International of the Americas as a federation  level Women's Opportunity Award recipient.

2014 Award Recipients - SI/Eureka and SI/Humboldt Bay

March 20, 2014
Ingomar Club

From front left to right: Antonia Bird, Kirsten Josang, Laquita Agwiak, Jessica Avila. Rebecca Shuflin, Madeline Musante, Jasmine Allard, Mary E. Baker, Carla Giovennetti and Katrina Anderson. 

SI/Eureka Award Recipieints:
Violet Richardson Award - Kirsten Josang
Distinguished Youth Award - Antonia Bird
Ruby Award - Mary Baker - Redwood Veterans Center
Women's Opportunity Award - Rebecca Shufflin

2013 Award Recipients - SI/Eureka and SI/Humboldt Bay

March 21, 2013
Ingomar Club

SI/Eureka Award Recipients:
Distinguished Youth Award - Cheyenne Schorlig
Ruby Award R - Rose Baker - Youthability
Women's Opportunity Award - April Stephens
Violet Richardson Award - Carolyn Smullin

2012 Award Recipients - SI/Eureka and SI/Humboldt Bay

Thursday, March 22, 2012
Ingomar Club

SI/Eureka Award Recipients:
Distinguished Youth Award - Vanessa Babot
Ruby Award Recipient - Betty Kwan Chinn -  Betty Chinn Center
Violet Richardson Award - Hannah Josang
Women's Opportunity Award  - Nicole Macan

2011 Awards Recipients

March 10, 2011
Ingomar Club

SI/Eureka Awards Recipients:
Distinguished Youth  Award - Imogene Carson 
Ruby Award Recipient -  Melissa Morrison Girl Scouts
Violet Richardson Award  - Kassi Brownlow
Women's Opportunity Award - Michaela Anthony

2010 Award Recipients

Thursday, March 11, 2010
Ingomar Club

SI/Eureka Award Recipients:
Distinguished Youth Scholarship - Christina Cho
Ruby Award: For Women Helping Women - Sharon Nelson
Violet Richardson Award - Sara Hylton
Women’s Opportunity Award - Trish Hostler